Writers logo

Writing Prompts for October

Fun little challenge for writers during the month of October

By Chloe Rose Violet šŸŒ¹Published 8 months ago ā€¢ 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
47
Writing Prompts for October
Photo by Samuel Bryngelsson on Unsplash

What is a writing prompt?

My basic definition of a writing prompt, is a statement, question, or thought that helps inspire a piece of writing. No two people will look at the prompt the same way which I think is pretty cool.

Fall truly happens to be my favourite time of the year. The air changes and we get to have a brief little reset before winter. I really do LOVE spooky season.

Iā€™ve been preparing for NaNoWriMo the last little while. For those of you who donā€™t know what NaNoWriMo means, November is National Novel Writing Month and Iā€™m super excited to be participating again. What is NaNoWriMo? It is an annual event in which participants attempt to write a 50,000-word novel during the month of November. The event was founded back in 1999 by Chris Baty and a group of friends in Northern California's Bay Area, and has since grown to become a global phenomenon, with hundreds of thousands of participants every year. Stay tuned for a post about that coming in November!

For more information about the event, click the link below.

Iā€™m getting quite excited about it this year. Iā€™m being ambitious right now and I know that but Iā€™m bound and determined to accomplish some goals Iā€™ve set for myself this year. But enough about that, let's get into the writing prompts I have come up with for the month of October.

I had a crappy start to 2023. I really did. Iā€™m so determined to change my narrative right now it isnā€™t even funny.

As a little fun brain break for myself while gearing up for November, Iā€™ve been working on writing poetry in my journal more. I want to create more. I thought this would be a fun challenge for fellow creators to participate in. Choose one prompt if youā€™d like or do them all!

As a side note, I realized afterward I created this that a lot of these prompts donā€™t really have to be poetry related. I think some of them make pretty good fiction or micro fiction prompts but I wanted to leave it the writer's hands. Just have fun with the prompt list because I know I had a lot of fun creating it. šŸŽƒ

ā€œThere is great beauty in each season, but autumn has a pinch of something more.ā€

Laura Jaworski

OCTOBER POETRY/SHORT STORY WRITING PROMPT LIST

  1. A poem about the month of October
  2. ā€œDead leavesā€
  3. ā€œA scream escapesā€
  4. ā€œIn the nightā€
  5. ā€œBlood poured down my faceā€
  6. A poem using the colour red
  7. ā€œDemons escapedā€
  8. ā€œStay with meā€
  9. A poem about thanksgiving (because Iā€™m Canadian and our thanksgiving is October 9th, 2023)
  10. ā€œThe wolves are howlingā€
  11. ā€œGhosts haunt meā€
  12. ā€œKnife under my pillowā€
  13. ā€œTrick or treatā€
  14. Halloween word acrostic
  15. ā€œCandy wrappersā€
  16. ā€œThe fogā€
  17. ā€œPoisonā€
  18. ā€œDNRā€
  19. ā€œThe bonesā€
  20. ā€œBewareā€
  21. ā€œThe bugs crawl along my skinā€
  22. ā€œThe haunted houseā€
  23. ā€œPumpkinā€
  24. ā€œThe wicked witchā€
  25. ā€œFull moon magicā€
  26. ā€œBlack catā€
  27. ā€œA bad dreamā€
  28. ā€œHuntedā€
  29. ā€œVampire bitesā€
  30. ā€œA storm blows inā€
  31. ā€œHallows Eve frightā€

Let me know what you think of this Halloween prompt list!

Iā€™m kind of excited to see other peopleā€™s takes on these prompts. Iā€™ve been wanting to do a writing challenge for fellow creators for a couple months now and October seemed supremely fitting for it. I have so many ideas and these seemed worth sharing. I have a few creators in mind that I know will shock people with their takes on the prompts.

Stay tuned for my first post for the month of October. šŸŽƒ

Happy writing to you all!

Chloe Rose Violet šŸŒ¹

Check out some more of my Halloween-ish themed writing down below!

InspirationCommunityChallenge
47

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet šŸŒ¹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. šŸ’€šŸ„°

ā€¢Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

ā€¢Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (52)

Sign in to comment
  • Chloe Rose Violet šŸŒ¹ (Author)7 months ago

    Thank you everyone for participating! The winners list will be posted soon.

  • Brin J.7 months ago

    So, I forgot about this for a few days šŸ˜­, therefore I blended two of the dates (the fog and Hallow's Eve) you can pick which one you want to judge it on. https://vocal.media/poets/avoid-the-fog

  • Zara Blume7 months ago

    I saw these prompts when Dharrsheena used one, and Iā€™ve done a few poems. Iā€™ll probably do a few more before the month is over. https://vocal.media/poets/show-your-bones https://vocal.media/poets/dead-to-me https://vocal.media/poets/a-familiar-tune-fo1pf01gm

  • Darkos7 months ago

    https://vocal.media/poets/entering-the-autumn-practice poem about Autumn October and healing practice included :) Enjoy ! Have a Great Autumn!

  • Darkos7 months ago

    Great article love to read it ! Congratulations!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Here's a little something for #14: https://vocal.media/fiction/guess-what-day-it-is

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Some of those are really great. "The wolves are howling" did it for me: https://vocal.media/poets/the-wolves-are-howling

  • Thavien Yliaster8 months ago

    I think I might have a few stories published already that might match some of these prompts.

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Great idea. Oh man, when will time create itself for me?

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Very interesting prompts. Hope to give it a go. Congrats.

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    Alright, I did my best with the "dead leaves". šŸ‚ I'm excited for poison!ā˜ ļø https://vocal.media/poets/autumn-s-tribute

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Well, I managed day 1 at least.... https://vocal.media/poets/indian-summer-qf4b0768

  • Kelsey Clarey8 months ago

    This is such a great prompt list! I'm definitely going to have to try to do a few of them this month.

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Oh, read this a wee while ago, but forgot to like and comment. I will definitely be participating with something. Those prompts look a lot of fun. Are you looking for strictly one entry per participant, though? Well done on a great post and hope November goes well too! I keep meaning to take part in that thing.

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    I keep forgetting to comment and but this is a great idea and Iā€™m keen to participate!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.